Manila Bay on a boring Sunday afternoon

“So after Rizal Park realizing that I have my camera I decided to go walk to the Manila Bay for the second time.

Roxas boulevard has always been one of the “cleanest” and more international-like of all the streets of Manila. From wide highways, sophisticated traffic lights, and cityscapes that almost feels you’re not in the Philippines…until that huge Philippine flag at the start of my walk.

Leaving Rizal Park..and I wanted to sit down first.

Leaving Rizal Park..and I wanted to sit down first.

Nothing much to talk about and since I have my camera I took pictures like a tourist would. So far so good as long as you’re careful and respectful no harm will come on you.

Sophisticated since..well they're the first to have this until some cities have theirs.

Sophisticated since..well they’re the first to have this until some cities have theirs.

Roxas Boulevard..Best road in the city

Roxas Boulevard..Best road in the city

Do you often feel like your a tourist in your own country?

Before the bay I have to cross the US Embassy. While here I couldn’t bring out the camera to take pictures for God knows why and along the path there that new FPJ monument on the other side of the street. Maybe I could have if I’m on it’s side.

At this point my feet was too tired since I was walking through the entire Rizal Park and then I continue to the bay area without stopping to take a seat that comes later after I pass the embassy.

After passing the embassy I still have to walk a few more meters till I’m quite far from the embassy till I can take out the camera and start taking pictures.

Manila Bay after the US embassy and at safe taking picture range

Manila Bay after the US embassy and at safe taking picture range

The well known sunset..Apparently I came by too early.

The well known sunset..Apparently I came by too early.

The Manila bay is one of the best tourist spots due to it’s beautiful view of the sunset in the afternoon. Back then it used to have numerous commercial stalls but was removed after having a new major. There’s quite a lot of people on the bay side. A few tourists, locals, and peddlers. The first half of the bay seems still being worked on and the smell of drainage can ruin the mood for some people but  as you go further more improvements are placed and with lesser stench.

IMG_0140 IMG_0144 IMG_0145 IMG_0147 IMG_0149 IMG_0150 IMG_0155 IMG_0156 IMG_0157 IMG_0160

I don't know if this would still give a positive message anymore..Man! repair these will ya?

I don’t know if this would still give a positive message anymore..Man! repair these will ya?

IMG_0166

The walk ended after reaching the Manila Yacht club and then the Cultural Center of the Philippines(CCP) building.

I still walked further after that. Reaching the old Folk Arts Theater which is mostly used now by a Christian church, the Coconut Palace which is currently the office of our vice president so I have no idea how can one enter that, until the World Trade Center(WTC) in Pasay city.

So in total I walked from the Post office building in Lawton, Manila City Hall, Rizal Park, US Embassy, CCP, then finally WTC. Manila to Pasay. I guess that beat my previous walk from Robinson’s Galleria to Caltex Santolan Branch or was it just the same? We did that because of a traffic jam. I did this because I was bored.

When I have time on Sunday I’d usually would spend it roaming away from home and just let my feet walk further and further like if ever I get to come back to Japan and that I’d never get tired of it unlike my first day there. So now I want to go home but before that I wanted to have dinner out so I took a bus and stop by…at a lifeless Makati Business District. More on that in the next blog.”

So, when was the last time you went out for walk and walked farther than usual?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About gabino2884

I'm a rent collector with our family business with aspirations of doing Character art and doing something bigger than myself. I blog about our capital city and talk about news articles that I find and comment on them. I play the saxophone during the evenings.

2 responses to “Manila Bay on a boring Sunday afternoon”

  1. elmer says :

    Nice. Next time try going straight from the CCP to the GSIS and finally to the Senate where you’ll find the bridge that connects to the MOA. Excellent view.

Leave a Reply

